After Trail Running Check for Ticks

Running in the woods presents many exciting differences from road running including varied terrain and surfaces along with occasional glimpses of wildlife. But bugs are also present including chances of encountering pesky ticks.

As we brush against plants and shrubs there is a chance that a tick will attach to our clothing or skin. It is amazing how they keep their grip. I have had times where I went swimming after a run, took a shower and still found a tick on my leg hours later! In some parts of the country ticks may carry Lyme Disease, so you definitely want to ensure a hitch-hiking tick ‘takes a hike’ off of you!

These little brown or black insects sure can cause problems if they happen to be carrying disease. Unfortunately they have an uncanny ability to stay attached to our skin once they hop on board us. I have found a tick on me three times this week after trail running – twice on my skin and once on a sock. In each instance I had done five miles of running in wooded areas.

Trail running is enjoyable as the soft surfaces cushion our legs, the scenery is awesome and sporadic encounters with wildlife are exciting, but please remember to check for ticks afterward.

Leave a comment