Treadmill Repeat Half Miles

Six weeks ago I added one of my favorite elements of training that gets me in a ‘5k groove’ pace and makes longer races feel relatively slow. On the track I do repeat 800 meters, but since I’ve been doing this stamina training session on the treadmill lately I do repeat half miles.

For my first attempt at the repeat half miles I did three of them and started out on the first at 10.0 which gave me a 3:00 half mile. The next two I picked up slightly to 10.1 and 10.2 mph which resulted in a 2:58 and 2:57. Two weeks later I added a fourth repeat and two weeks after that I added another. I just picked up the pace slightly on the treadmill on each one to 10.3 and 10.4 mph and so on. In between I ran easy at 6.6 to 6.8 mph which ended up being around 8:45 mile pace.

I started out at 3:00 on the first two today and then ran 2:58. I had a stack of seven towels piled on the treadmill – one for each fast half mile and one to wipe down the machine afterward. On the next one I ran 2:55 and I was breathing hard and expending more effort the last minute or so. The fifth half mile was strong at 2:53, but I was using my ‘race effort’ breathing during the final 30 seconds and had a slight side stitch.

On the last one I had to switch to my ‘race breathing’ where I breathe in or out in tandem with each stride with a quarter mile to go. But I was feeling strong. The side stitch didn’t reappear which was a nice sign of my fitness level. I finished in 2:51 and my shirt was soaked. I was very pleased with the set of six repeat half miles and will hope to add one every two weeks until I am running ten repeat half miles in mid-July.

In case you think that this was the end of my exercising – think again! I toweled off, put on a dry shirt, drank a bunch of water and did about 45 minutes of upper body, core and leg weights along with dumbell exercises, my core ball routine, exercises with bands, planking and a set of ten running drills. Shhhh… don’t tell anyone I’m 55 years old…

About garyscohen

Gary Cohen is an enthusiast for the sport of running including magazine/essay writing, blogging, interviews, coaching, public speaking, leading trail runs in Central Florida and announcing at track meets.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Treadmill Repeat Half Miles

  1. Kenley Jones says:

    That’s great. I love to do 1000m on treadmill.

Leave a Reply

